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Memorandum
TO: Legislation Committee DATE: June 6, 2014
FR:  Deputy Executive Director, Policy W. L. 1131

RE: AB 1646 (Frazier):VVehicles: Electronic Wireless Communication Devices: Prohibitions

Background

AB 1646 raises the fines for driving while operating a cell phone without operating it in a hand-
free mode or driving while sending or reading text messages from $20 to $50 for a first offense
and from $50 to $100 for a second offense. The bill also expands the requirements of the driving
examination to include a test of the applicant’s understanding of the distractions and dangers of
handheld cell phone use and text messaging while operating a motor vehicle. Finally, the bill
requires a violation point to be placed on a person’s driving record if convicted on a second or
subsequent violation related to using a cell phone or electronic wireless device while driving.

Recommendation: Support

Discussion

Currently, 12 states have banned hand-held cell phone use while driving while 43 states have
banned text messaging while driving. The risks associated with talking on a cell phone or
sending/reading text messages while driving is well documented. According to the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration, using a cell phone for talking or texting increases the
risk of getting into an accident threefold. A study conducted by Virginia Tech Transportation
Institute found that sending or receiving a text message distracts a motorist on average 4.6
seconds, increasing their risk of getting into accident eight-fold.

According to the Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), the overall drop in cell phone usage while
driving has been a contributing factor in the decline in fatal traffic accidents since 2008. A
recent OTS survey showed 40 percent of California drivers reported talking less since the
enactment of the handheld cell phone ban. This response suggests that some drivers have
adjusted their behavior in response to the change in law; however it also underscores the fact that
many Californians are not complying with the law.

AB 1646 is very similar to SB 28 (Simitian, 2011) and SB 1310 (Simitian, 2012) both of which
MTC supported but were ultimately vetoed by the Governor due to concerns that the fines were
too high. Prior to those bills, MTC also supported various bills to address cell phone usage while
driving. Staff believes it makes sense to include questions regarding the hazards of using a cell
phone and texting while driving as part of the written driving examination and to increase the
penalties associated with such violations. To improve the safety of the region’s local roads and
highways, MTC recommends a support position on AB 1646.
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Known Positions

Support

Association of Global Automakers

California Association of Highway Patrolmen

~ California Police Chiefs Association

California State Sheriffs' Association

Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety

County Health Executives Association of California
Lytx Inc.

State Farm Insurance

Traffic Safety Educators Association of California

Oppose
Safer Streets L.A.
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